Day 9 – That’s why they call it a “Feast”

Well, I knew I would be saying things like this at the end…but here it goes…”Only one day left? Wow! That went really fast!”  Amazing how time heals all wounds…and erases memories of cravings!  I think after my little pep talk to myself last night, I really got into a good mindset for the last two days of this.  I managed to get to the gym again, and made some of my favorite and least favorite drinks of the whole fast.

Not much else to report today, just a little research I did because I was curious.  I was thinking how odd it was that I wasn’t really very hungry once I got used to the juice.  And I was curious how many calories are in an average meal from the juicer.  Turns out for an 8oz serving of the classic “Mean Green” juice from Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, you’ll be taking in 183 calories.  The recipe for this juice includes fruits and veggies: 6 Kale Leaves, 1 Cucumber, 4 Celery Stalks, 2 Green Apples, 1/2 Lemon, 1 piece of ginger.  Although my recipes differ from this one, I think over an average day my fruit and veggie ratio is about the same (all fruit in the beginning, all veggies at the end usually).  This means over the course of this fast I have ingested between about 1700 and 2900 calories per day. Wowza! I had no idea!

The moral of this story is: it’s not a “fast” it’s a “FEAST”!  When you can take in calories like that and know it’s all good for you, and still lose weight, and not be hungry, and still give your body everything it needs…what do you call that?  …Fantastico!

What I slurped today: (2287 calories!!!)

Breakfast (8 ounces): green grapes, strawberries, romaine, iceberg, lemon, lime, red cabbage, carrot, celery

Lunch (32 ounces): SO YUMMY! orange, lime, fuji apple, strawberries, blackberries, red bell pepper, red cabbage

Midday Snack (28 ounces): SO GROSS!!! (just using what was left in the kitchen before shopping) tomato, rainbow chard, butter lettuce, red pepper, green pepper, blackberry, lime, red cabbage, gala apple, parsley, pea sprouts, pear.  Don’t ask me why we thought this would be a good idea.

Dinner (32 ounces): green beans, red pepper, green pepper, carrot, celery, cucumber, tomato, kale

One more day…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brian
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 17:43:25

    How reliable is it for you to be saying the calorie intake of mean green?

    Reply

    • Allison
      Jan 01, 2013 @ 18:29:00

      Hi there! I researched the published calorie count on many different websites (not too difficult since the mean green drink is very popular these days). I didn’t come up with the count myself, I’m just re-quoting others’ research. It’s as accurate as I can find based on multiple postings 🙂 Of course, this posting is not meant to substitute for an FDA calorie count, it’s merely a ballpark guideline for those who are curious about, or are attempting to include juicing in their calorie count. Thanks for reading!

      Reply

Leave a comment